why I refuse bottled water

October 27, 2008

Drinking water should be free and everyone should have the right to clean potable water – this is not true in many parts of the world. I refuse bottled water even when given to me freely. Why? Because . . .

  • we already pay for clean municipal drinking water
  • bottled water costs a lot of money
  • I have no idea of what’s in the bottle since water quality regulations for bottled water are very loose
  • plastic for containers ends up costing us for production, waste disposal and recycling
  • chemicals in the plastic leach into the water
  • water is drained from far-away places with no chance of groundwater recharge there
  • it represents water ownership by a few multi-national corporations – this already affects many parts of the world where local fresh water no longer belongs to the people

Thankfully I live in a place that has clean drinking water flowing from my tap whenever I need it. I hope that I never take that for granted.

Water will be a hot topic for the foreseeable future as fresh water supplies around the world become contaminated or unusable. Water as a commodity? Water more expensive than oil? Who would have thought this 10 years ago? Many people a lot smarter than me. Here are links to films about water that I saw last week at the Planet in Focus film festival.

One Water; Blue Gold: World Water Wars

Leave a Reply

