Obama impressive so far

November 19, 2008

Barack Obama surprises me. So far he is better than I thought he could be. What impresses me the most is the way he has reached out to people who have been extremely offensive to him very recently. He has done it with control and humility, and without weakness, pride or naiveté. This is something that I hope to attain in my life.

To some these traits may seem trivial, but they have the power to transform relationships and conversations. People react much better to disagreement when their views are considered and when they are treated with respect.

I know that I am going to be disappointed and upset with some of his decisions, but the way he has carried himself so far gives me hope that he will be collaborative when possible and decisive when needed. I’ll keep watching and hoping that this isn’t too good to be true.

Leave a Reply

