alice in wonderland

March 27, 2010

I saw Alice in Wonderland in 3D tonight. It was better than I expected even though 3D is not my favourite way to watch a movie. I like that Tim Burton didn’t overdo the effects and I felt fairly immersed for the most part. It feels like 3D falls apart when the camera quickly pans across a screen. It gives the impression that the bits are rushing to catch up to the focal point of the scene. I’m not sure if this is a shortcoming of the technology or artistic creativity (that I just stomped on). Either way, I feel it ruins the illusion.

Besides the technology, the human actors were also very believable 🙂 – especially the Red Queen, the Mad Hatter, and Alice. The actress who plays Alice (Mia Wasikowska) is fantastic; she reminds me of a young Gwyneth Paltrow. I seem to be one of the few people I know who has never read the books but I am now tempted. Bye…going down the rabbit hole…be back soon.

Leave a Reply

