back scratching toilet key

April 2, 2010

I have always hated the concept of those washroom keys tied to a stick that are part of the ambiance in some restaurants or coffee shops. I don’t know about you, but I have always felt uncomfortable with something that goes into the washroom with people of various sanitary habits and then is stored in a food-preparation area or handled by people making my food or drink. Mostly I try not to think about it.

I try not to use washrooms that use this elegant system of toilet security (and I pray when I have the misfortune of my server handling the key before making my food), but yesterday I had to pee very badly – so I succumbed. I unlocked the door, left the back-scratcher-key on the paper towel dispenser, used the washroom, washed my hands really well, and (error!) grabbed the back-scratcher-key, (error!) opened the door, and handed the key back to the food preparer. Error! because I forgot to use a paper towel to open the door and grab the back-scratcher-key. I hate doing this because it is wasteful, but…

Disgusting Alert: Driving home, I was eating an early-Easter chocolate – and that’s when I noticed that my hand smelled…I’m not even going to type the rest. Absolutely disgusting, mentally sickened to my stomach, pissed off at Second Cup, worried about a stomach virus, telling myself to be strong and not to get sick, instructing my body to destroy all bad things in me, madly grabbing for my alcohol-based hand sanitizer. If anybody had seen my face right then, they would have thought that I was smelling…wait! I always hated that stupid back-scratcher-key concept for exactly this reason. There has to be a better way (or a reason) to have ultra-secure washrooms…maybe biometrics…hang on…that’s what got us in crap in the first place.
😦

Leave a Reply

