no bull in catalonia

August 5, 2010

I’m very proud of the Catalan government for banning bull-fighting (by 2012) in the autonomous community of Catalonia. The parliamentary vote (67 for the ban, 59 against) was historic in a place that romances the torture of animals; I agree that the art of the matador is elegant, colourful and beautiful, but let’s not overlook the actual act that is being committed.

bull being tortured to death

I am not against people eating meat per se, but to cruelly kill an animal slowly and tauntingly for the pleasure of thousands seems a bit barbaric to me. Now when will the rest of Spain catch up? I won’t hold my breath – tradition is slow to change.

Leave a Reply

