reciprocity in friendship

November 12, 2010

Another wonderful thought from Nietzsche that made me think a bit.

“People who have given us their complete confidence believe that they have a right to ours. The inference is false, a gift confers no rights.”

I definitely understand the need for a balance or equality between people especially when we expose our selves (I have this same need), but there is something to think about here. Just because I have shared my secrets with you, does not make you obligated, willing or able to do the same. Another related thought, that makes me question the way I deal with people, says:

“A friend should be a master at guessing and keeping still: you must not want to see everything.”

…because seeing everything inevitable leads to seeing ugliness.

Leave a Reply

